Sports Reporter - August 19, 2020

Motor racing has returned to Killarney race track after six months of lockdown as the Short Circuit categories led the tightly fought contests on Saturday 22 August. With no fewer than 20 entries, the CBR150 riders provided action and excitement in all three of their races. Main Circuit and national star Kewyn Snyman had an up-and-down day, leading the Senior Class in the first and third races, but dropping out of Race 2 to finish third for the day.

Braddon Hutchings finished second in Race 1, won Race 2 and came home fifth in Race 3, which was just enough to give him first overall for the day on a countback from Jason Linaker, who was third in Race 1 and second in Races 2 and 3. David Lindemann pulled off a classy win in the Junior Class of the first CBR150 race, ahead of arch-rival Slade van Niekerk and a hardcharging Connor Hagan. Van Niekerk took revenge, however, with two fine wins in the remaining races. Lindemann finished second in Races 2 and 3 to take second overall for the day, with Nicholas Hutchings placing third in Race 2, and Hagan third in Race 3.

In the Super Singles races, Mark Roos took Race 1 from Wesley Blake and veteran Mitch Robinson, only to have Blake snatch the remaining two race wins and take class honours for the day ahead of Roos, who posted a win and a fifth in Races 2 and 3, and Robinson, whose tally comprised a third and two fourths. Gareth Gehlig made no mistakes in the Supermotard Races, winning all three races from Regan Mitchell and Emile van der Merwe, which decided the class honours for the day in that order.

There were only three entries for the Mini Moto pocket bikes, but they provided plenty of excitement as Riley Coleman scooted to three wins. Aaron Lindemann was second in the first and third races but had a mishap in Race 2, handing the spot to Christopher Bosson. Darren Liebenberg, meanwhile, took all three Formula M races ahead of Fuaat Gamiet.

Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *